Indian-Spiced Roasted Red Pepper Dip

I’ve started to experiment with exotic Indian spice blends (masalas) – a gift from my kids that they knew I would enjoy. I love flavour, but I’m not a fan of heat, so my first attempts at incorporating the spices are usually too mild-tasting.

roasted peppers

This is how my roasted peppers looked when they were done.

The dal makhani masala that I used for this recipe is made up of more than a dozen ingredients including coriander, chili, dried mango, ginger, garlic, nutmeg, cloves and anise. It’s recommended for lentils and stews.

I’ll have to try it next time I make dal (red lentil soup).

It’s easy to roast peppers – 20 minutes per side at 400 degrees. I found instructions here. The skins slipped off easily when the peppers were done.

To mix the dip, I used an immersion blender, but I’d recommend a food processor instead. Maybe I didn’t cut the peppers into small enough pieces, or maybe I should have mixed in the green onion by hand, once everything else was blended. I’m glad my immersion blender didn’t break. I definitely overworked it.

The end result was a mix of what I had in the house, and I made it up as I went along. I thought the dip could have been thicker (maybe less yogourt and mayo?), but everyone said they liked it. And they took seconds.

Indian-Spiced Roasted Red Pepper Dip

2 large red, yellow or orange peppers

1 tbsp. mayonnaise

1 tbsp. yogourt

1/4 to 1/2 tsp. or more dal makhani masala

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 scallion, sliced

1. Roast peppers on baking sheet at 400 F for a total of 40 minutes, turning over half-way through cooking.

2. Let peppers cool, then peel and seed them. Cut in pieces before processing.

3. Place in processor with mayonnaise, yogourt, masala, salt, and pepper.

4. Process until not quite as smooth as you like. Add green onions, and process on/off until just incorporated into the dip.

Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Indian-Spiced Roasted Red Pepper Dip

  1. You can also use garam masala because it’s more common…. then add your preference of the other ingredients above….like the dried mango and ginger. Most of the remaining ingredients are in garam masala so you won’t miss much and it’s more readily available.

Leave a Reply

