Chocolate Sunday – Granola!

The first gift my husband gave me when we were dating was a jar of granola, which he swears he made himself.

Our daughter is skeptical about this story, because it’s my father-in-law who’s the chief granola-maker in the family. A retired pharmacist who learned to be precise about measuring and mixing long before he began baking, Dad is also known for his other specialties including blueberry tortes and potato-leek soup.

granola

Dad’s granola, updated

He doesn’t remember where he got his granola recipe, but it’s been a family favourite for a long time. I’ve made it many times myself.

As an alternative, a few years ago, I also began using a simpler recipe – the Maple-Nut Granola from Aviva Allen’s Organic Kosher Cookbook. It calls for a mix of oats, nuts, olive oil, maple syrup and a bit of sea salt – nothing else – and has become my other favourite granola recipe.

Dad’s granola is no more difficult to make, but it virtually teems with ingredients – coconut, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, wheat germ, up to three kinds of nuts, and – as “optional” ingredients – chocolate chips, raisins, and vanilla extract. The add-ons were never optional for me, though – especially the chocolate chips. The recipe uses honey as sweetener, but I tried it this week with maple syrup, and that was good too.

Most of the component ingredients remain discrete in the finished product, but the granola also includes a few larger clumps – the best parts – which provide a tasty, unexpected hit of melted chocolate.

Both recipes are delicious, and should probably be eaten sparingly. I often sprinkle granola over a plainer cereal, and add berries or bananas, and almond milk.

When I made the granola this week, I reduced the amount of coconut because it is high in saturated fat, and I used oat bran instead of wheat germ because I wanted to minimize the amount of gluten. I also used olive oil for its health benefits, even though the original recipe didn’t specify it.

The recipe is very flexible, and optional ingredients in the original version are listed without quantities. I measured what I used so I could include amounts in the recipe that follows.

Dad’s Granola (updated)

4 cups rolled oats

½ cup coconut

½ cup sesame seeds

1 cup chopped pecans (or almonds, or a mix of nuts)

½ cup sunflower seeds

½ tsp. sea salt

½ cup oat bran

¾ cup chocolate chips

¾ cup raisins

½ cup liquid honey or maple syrup

(optional: 1 tsp. of vanilla if using honey)

½ cup olive oil

1. Oil 9 x 13” pan, and add dry ingredients in order given.

2. Add oil and maple syrup or honey (with vanilla, if you like), and mix well.

3. Bake 20 minutes at 275F, stirring every five to seven minutes.

4. Let cool about an hour. Store in glass jars.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Sunday – Granola!

Leave a Reply

