Out of the dining room

Two days ago, I OD’d on sessions for writers at Toronto’s annual Word on the Street festival.  I’m still processing everything I learned at the literary event’s “Wordshop Marquee,” hosted by the Humber School for Writers.

I’ve had a book percolating in my head for the last few years, and after I was downsized in June, I began to work on it more consistently.

So I was naturally drawn to sessions like “The Insider’s Guide to Getting Published” and “How to Write a Bestseller.” I returned home with copious notes. Yesterday, I highlighted the nuggets I think will be useful, plus the ones that validate what I already know. I have yet to go through all the literature I brought home about various writers’ groups.

But content aside, I think my attendance at the sessions marked a turning point in my journey toward whatever is next for me, career-wise.

For the past three months, my “home office,” aka my dining room, has been the focus of my “work” life. It’s where I write my blog posts, connect on LinkedIn, and sort through more than 20 years of old notes, deciding what to recycle or shred as I shift my attention to new priorities.

Last week, I signed up for a three-day social media workshop that I learned of indirectly through a LinkedIn group. Tonight, I plan to attend an event for freelance journalists. As well, I recently received an e-mail about an upcoming job fair, which I’ve added to my calendar.

All of a sudden, my calendar is filling up with events… and possibility.

No blog posts on Thursday or Friday of this week – the last of the Jewish holidays! I’ll be back on Sunday.

2 thoughts on “Out of the dining room

  1. Hi Frances,

    Good luck with the book! I’m sure it’ll be a best seller! Also, keep up the good work with this blog!
    Chag Sameach,
    Michael

Leave a Reply

