Accents, and listening

Last night, a friend of mine posted a BBC Radio link on Facebook, called “A Tour of the British Isles in Accents.” We both found it interesting because of our  background as language students – plus, it’s less than a minute and a half, an added incentive for me to check it out.

I think I learned to listen – really listen – to the way people talk, when I was studying French as an undergraduate. Part of our “ear” training involved transcribing tapes of diverse speakers. Brigitte Bardot was one, and I believe there was also an elderly, toothless man from the south of France, as well as a hippodrome announcer.

The focus I honed in that classroom helped me years later as a reporter, when I interviewed people and covered events.

In the last couple of years, I’ve become a fan of Downton Abbey, and part of the appeal is just listening to the English accents. This morning, I found an interesting blog post about the accents in the show.

The BBC Radio link also brought to mind a scene from “Lucy Meets the Queen” – an episode of I Love Lucy – when Ethel explains to a British character that she and Lucy don’t understand English, because they’re American. I looked for the episode online, but couldn’t find one that would play in Canada. Sigh.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Accents, and listening

  1. I needed to thank you for this very good read!!

    I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it. I’ve got you saved
    as a favorite to check out new things you post…

  2. Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to come back once again since
    I bookmarked it. Money and freedom is the best
    way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

  3. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information
    you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same old rehashed information. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

Leave a comment