Simpler than Simple Brazilian Banana Bread

It’s hard to improve on the recipe for Ridiculously Simple Banana Bread, from Susan Mendelson’s Mama Never Cooked Like This.

But I decided to try – not to make it better tasting, just to make it one step easier.

photo(28)I actually wanted to resurrect a recipe that a friend from Brazil gave me many years ago, but I turned to my cookbooks when I couldn’t find it. My friend called her recipe “Lazy Banana Pie,” even though it was a banana bread baked in a loaf pan.

What made it different from Mendelson’s recipe, and any other banana bread I’ve tried, is that the bananas were cut up instead of mashed. Cutting the bananas simplifies an already-easy recipe, and provides an interesting contrast in texture.

Also, my friend’s recipe called for cinnamon, which I’ve been trying to incorporate into my diet lately. Cinnamon has all kinds of health benefits, according to numerous online articles like this one from Medical News Today.

I couldn’t find the recipe for Lazy Banana Pie, so I decided to play with Mendelson’s recipe. However, without the mashed bananas, the consistency was off. I ended up mashing part of one banana, and cutting up the rest. It turned out well… and my kitchen smelled delicious!

Simpler than Simple Brazilian Banana Bread (adapted from Susan Mendelson’s Ridiculously Simple Banana Bread)

1 1/4 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon, or more to taste

2 eggs

1/2 c. oil

1 c. sugar

2 large ripe bananas

extra cinnamon to taste

1. Sift together flour, baking soda and cinnamon.

2. In separate bowl, mix eggs, oil, and sugar with fork. Add to dry ingredients.

3. Cut two bananas in pieces, and mash about 3/4 of one banana to add to mixture. Blend well, add more cinnamon to taste if desired, and stir in remaining pieces of banana.

4. Spoon batter into greased loaf pan. Sprinkle with extra cinnamon.

5. Bake at 350 for about an hour.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

