Almond-Butter Cookies

I don’t usually buy prepared baked goods, aside from bread. But I succumbed to a craving this week, and ended up baking anyway.

photo(23)

Fresh from the oven, yesterday.

I’m a big label-reader, and when I saw peanut butter cookies in a local bakery made from peanut butter, sugar, eggs, and nothing else, I remembered that I’d made them that way myself once or twice.

Why not try the easy peanut butter cookie recipe with almond butter instead? I think of almond butter as a step up nutritionally, but each one has advantages, as long as the product is minimally processed and doesn’t contain additives, according to this Globe and Mail article.

Also, I had more almond butter than peanut butter at home, and wanted to use some of it up. I combined two kinds of almond butter – thick almond butter in the opened jar, and more liquidy almond butter in the new jar. I figured they’d balance each other out.

I decided to top each cookie with a whole almond, à la Bonnie Stern, circa 1978, the year her Food Processor Cuisine/La Cuisine Tourbillon was published. I used to enjoy making (and eating!) her buttery Almond Cookies, each garnished with a whole blanched almond.

But no need for butter or flour in this week’s recipe. I based my cookies on this three-ingredient recipe for Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever on allrecipes.com, and a similar one on Kraft Canada’s website.

I used organic sugar, in part because I like the granular texture. It’s also less processed than regular white sugar, but I still try to consume it in moderation (most of the time!).

The cookies were delicious, especially after I let them cool!

Almond Butter Cookies

1 c. almond butter

3/4 c. organic sugar

1 egg, slightly beaten

whole almonds, 1 per cookie

1. Mix together almond butter, sugar and egg with wooden spoon.

2. Form batter into 1″ balls and place on cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Leave space to allow them to spread.

3. Flatten each cookie with the palm of your hand, but leave them a little puffy.

4. Press whole almond into each cookie.

5. Bake 10 minutes at 350, or until baked through. Cookie will lift easily with a knife when done.

6. Cool briefly on cookie sheet, then transfer to wire rack to finish cooling.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Almond-Butter Cookies

  1. Hi Frances, These sound fabulous. Do you know how long almond butter is good in the fridge once the container has been opened? I would like to try this recipe……and have some almond butter that has been in the fridge for about 6 mos. Hope to be able to see you guys soon.

    • Hi Marlene, ehow says three months. Some people say it lasts forever. Rancid nuts smell bad, so I guess rancid nut butter would too. Maybe there’s an expiry date, although those may be for unopened jars. Hope to see you soon too!

Leave a Reply

