What to do with frozen blueberries

I had lots of good reasons for buying frozen blueberries whenever it was that I bought them, but I didn’t end up using them until this week.

blueberry muffinsReasons like…

1. Fresh blueberries can be expensive.

2. The frozen ones were organic and Canadian.

3. Blueberries are good for you.

4. Even though I buy fresh blueberries all the time, we go through them quickly.

But it kind of defeats the purpose to buy food, and not use it. I decided to use the blueberries to bake something that would be good with a cup of tea. I googled blueberry cakes and muffins, and the first few recipes I found didn’t appeal to me – or if they did, I didn’t have the right ingredients. So I turned to my well-used copy of Norene Gilletz’s MealLeaniYumm, and I’m happy to say that her recipe for blueberry muffins is also online (scroll down once you click on the link). Her recipes are always good!

I didn’t bother with the streusel topping, and I used gluten-free flour (a cup-for-cup type). Aside from that, I followed the recipe pretty much as she wrote it. I included the optional orange rind in greater quantity than Norene recommends. I think it adds a lot of flavour.

The muffins are moist and tasty, even better on Day 2.

I learned a few things as well.

1. There’s a trick (or two) to using frozen berries so that they don’t stain the whole batter. I rinsed and dried mine as per the instructions on the King Arthur flour website.

2. Yahoo! answers recommends dusting the frozen berries in flour first, which is also recommended in the recipe. So my bases were covered! In addition, I banged the still-sealed bag on the counter a couple of times before I opened it, to break up the berries.

2. I realized after I started making the recipe that my baking powder was well past its expiry date. But, thanks to bakingbites.com, I now know that you can test baking powder for freshness by adding a teaspoonful to warm water. Magic!

To my great surprise, the mixture bubbled and fizzed even though the baking powder was best before… a year ago. I went ahead and used it, but I think it’s time to get a new container.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

