The book I might have written, and the book I’m actually writing

This morning, I read an interview in the Toronto Star with Eve Schaub, author of a new book called Year of No Sugar.

By coincidence, last Friday I read a blog post on the New Hampshire Writers’ Network blog (“Live to Write – Write to Live”), titled “The Book You Wish You Wrote.” My first thought was Gone with the Wind, but as soon as I saw the article today about Year of No Sugar, I wished I’d written that too.

Another coincidence – just before I saw the article, my walking partners and I were talking about sugar, and how it’s in all kinds of foods you wouldn’t expect it to be in. I’ve eliminated sugar from my diet twice – once for ten days, more recently for three weeks – and felt great both times. Would I be able to stick it out for a year? I don’t know. I do know that once I fell off the wagon, it was hard to get back on. But there have been less-drastic, positive changes in the way I eat, partly as a result of having gone cold turkey. Maybe it could have become a book.

No serious regrets, though. I’m working on my own “year of” book, and even though other people have written about their year of Kaddish and loss of a loved one, I think what I experienced the year after I lost my dad has some unique elements.

There’s another aspect to writing it too. Even though it sounds a little, um, woo-woo, the book kind of started writing itself in my head. I just wrote it down,  then added to it, to see if there actually was a book to be written. It seems there is.

 

 

2 thoughts on “The book I might have written, and the book I’m actually writing

  1. Interesting to see this book come out; in one month from today, I’ll be able to look back on my own Year of No Sugar. My only ‘cheat’ has been some very occasional use of Stevia (which doesn’t add calories, affect blood sugar/insulin levels, or contribute to dental cavities). When you have to do it for health reasons, sugar is easy to cut out. I really don’t miss it.

  2. I don’t know if I can cut out sugar for a year! Like you said, it’s in so many foods, and I guess you’re referring to processed sugar since there’s natural sugar in fruits etc. It’s extra difficult to resist sugar if you’re at an event with delicious looking desserts, as an example. And of course there is the grocery stores that always have sugary snacks next to the checkout so that you can stare and be tempted while you wait in line. Why is it that we know sugar is bad for us but still eat it? I think it’s also a type of addiction…but that’s a whole other story.

Leave a Reply

