Passover Vegetable Cutlets

Vegetable cutlets are a staple at my house on Passover, even though they can be labour-intensive for the number of cutlets that one recipe makes.
vegetable cutletsMine are small – like little pancakes – so I get almost two dozen. I like to eat them with plain yogourt as a vegetarian main dish.This year, somehow, I had the recipe when I made my grocery list, but couldn’t find it when I was ready to cook. Groan!

I was sure I’d find it online, but most of the vegetable cutlet recipes I found included mashed potatoes. No! That definitely wasn’t what I was looking for.

This recipe is the closest one I could find, but the proportions are different, and I prefer the carrots grated, the way I’m used to, not chopped. I know – picky, picky.

I called my mom, who’s been making the recipe for years, but her list of ingredients and amounts is also a little different from what I’d been using.

I decided to use what I had on hand, including shallots and one cremini mushroom left over from another recipe, which I thought would add a bit of a meaty texture. The end result was basically what I’m used to. It’s a forgiving recipe – you can substitute vegetables and tweak the amounts. But I think you need the spinach, onion (or reasonable facsimile), and grated carrot.

I was tempted to sauté the spinach with the rest of the vegetables, but I decided to cook it separately the way I usually do. Maybe next year.

The original recipe called for frying the cutlets, but I prefer to bake them.

Here’s the recipe I came up with. It hit the spot. 🙂

Passover Vegetable Cutlets

3 shallots, chopped

1/2 large yellow pepper, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 carrots, grated

1 cremini mushroom, chopped

5 1/2 oz. fresh baby spinach, coursely chopped

oil for sautéing

3/4 c. matzo meal

3 eggs, beaten

salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat oil in large pan, and sauté all vegetables except spinach until they start to soften.

2. Rinse spinach, and drain. Cook (or wilt) in dry pot, using only water that clings to the leaves.

3. Cool cooked spinach, and squeeze out excess water.

4. Mix vegetables in bowl with matzo meal, eggs, salt and pepper. Refrigerate mixture for 15 minutes.

5. Form patties on cookie sheet(s) lined with parchment paper.

6. Bake at 375 degrees 12 minutes, then flip the cutlets, and bake another 12 minutes.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

