Bread Pudding with Apple and Pecans

I had a lot of challah left over last Friday night, and it wasn’t getting eaten very quickly. To use it up, I decided to make bread pudding.

The last time I attempted this, I made a very decadent recipe from a cookbook I bought at a historic synagogue in Charleston, South Carolina.

bread pudding, ready to bake

Bread pudding with apple and pecans, ready to bake.

This time, I wanted to try something more in line with the type of cooking I usually do, even though I’m not a big bread-eater. The recipe I came up with has one less egg and half the sugar than the more decadent recipe, plus it eliminates the butter completely. I added apples to increase the moisture, and also for their nutritional value. As well, I ground cinnamon and whole nutmeg for extra flavour.

The end result was delicious, if a bit underbaked in the middle (after 30 minutes). I had some for breakfast yesterday morning, heated, with plain Greek yogourt on top. A treat! Then I froze the rest, so I wouldn’t be tempted!

Bread Pudding with Apples and Pecans

8 cups leftover challah, cut in 1/2-inch cubes

4 cups vanilla almond milk

2 unpeeled apples, cored, quartered and sliced (I used organic Royal Gala)

fresh-ground cinnamon stick and fresh-ground whole nutmeg to taste

2 tsp. vanilla

3 large eggs

3/4 cup coconut sugar

1/2 to 1 cup chopped pecans

1. Whisk together almond milk, vanilla, eggs and coconut sugar in large bowl.

2. In separate large bowl, mix together challah, apple and pecans.

3. Pour liquid over bread mixture and soak 15 to 20 minutes. Stir every so often, making sure all the bread is wet.

4. Oil bottom and sides of 8×12″ pan, and pour in mixture.

5. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven 30 to 40 minutes until done.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

