Chocolate Sunday (with no chocolate) – Experiment #2, Carob Almond Butter Cups

This week – the second week of my elimination diet – I had some cravings for chocolate, but didn’t succumb. There’s still a week to go before I start adding foods back in.

I don’t remember ever using carob powder before – why would I, if I could use (and eat) real cocoa? But this is definitely the time to try. Last week I found a tempting recipe for Homemade Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, and adapted it using almond butter.

carob almond butter cupI used a mini-muffin pan instead of a regular one, so that I’d have more treats, and so that each one would be smaller.

Although the almond butter cups didn’t satisfy my chocolate craving, they satisfied my craving to have “a treat.” I made a big mistake when I was preparing the carob mixture – I forgot to add sweetener until halfway through the recipe. So I ended up with almond butter sandwiched between unsweetened carob bottoms and sweetened carob tops. Trust me – it needs sweetener.

If I make the recipe again, I would increase the amount of almond butter. Then again, with the bottom layer properly sweetened, it might be okay as is.

The health benefits of chocolate have been widely touted, but this Whole Foods Market blog post offers information on the advantages of carob.

Carob Almond Butter Cups

1/2 cup carob powder

1 cup almond milk, divided

maple syrup to taste (1-2 tbsp.)

2 tbsp. almond butter (or more)

1. In small pot, whisk together carob powder and half cup almond milk. Bring to a boil over medium-low, whisking constantly.

2. Add remaining almond milk a bit at a time, still whisking constantly, until thick and creamy.

3. Stir in maple syrup.

4. Pour 1 1/2 tsp. of carob mixture in each of 12 lined muffin cups, and freeze about 15 minutes until set.

5. Spoon 1/2 tsp. or more almond butter onto carob base, smooth out, and freeze again until hardened.

6. Finish with one more layer of carob mixture, and freeze again.

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Sunday (with no chocolate) – Experiment #2, Carob Almond Butter Cups

Leave a Reply

