Time to “grow” my blog?

I haven’t done anything with the express purpose of “growing” my blog since I started it six months ago, but I’ve been thinking that that should probably be the next step.

I think my blog – like my writing, and like my life since I was downsized – has been evolving, and that part of my role, in addition to writing the blog, has been to observe its progress. That helps to affirm what I’m doing right, and lets me know what I need to work on.

Slowly, I have acquired some new followers beyond my initial circle of family and friends. A couple of people even posted links to my recipes on Pinterest – a social media site I don’t use. I didn’t recognize the posters’ names, and my first thought was that they must be friends of my kids – but no! It seems my blog is growing on its own, albeit slowly. I think I need to catch up.

A couple of days ago, I discovered that WordPress, my blog hosting site, has launched a program called Zero to Hero: 30 Days to a Better Blog. It’s already Day 13, and my priority is to post to my blog before I undertake the daily WordPress assignments. But I do plan to return to the guidelines, and see where they take me… and where they take my blog.

Leave a Reply

