Chocolate Sunday on Tuesday – Cacao Nibs!

I started to write this post before we lost power because of Toronto’s ice storm… Hope those still without electricity are staying warm, and safe.

Last week I bought a bag of raw cacao nibs for the first time. Sweet cacao nibs, a “Mayan Superfood” with antioxidants, fibre and magnesium, according to the label. Certified organic too!

cacao nibsThen I got home and thought – “What do I do with them?”

The manufacturer’s website suggests eating them right out of the bag. That was perfect advice for the last couple of days.

Before the storm hit, I added the nibs to my breakfast yogourt for a treat. Plans to bake with them over the weekend were put on hold!

One of my favourite breakfasts is a combination of Greek yogourt, fresh and sometimes dried fruit, nuts and/or seeds, cinnamon and a drizzle of honey or maple syrup.

A serving of Greek yogourt is nourishing and satisfying (high in protein)… but not very exciting on its own. Fruit and nuts or seeds add a variety of textures and nutrients, and lots of flavour. The cacao nibs add a whole other dimension.

Raw cacao nibs are the essence of chocolate. I like them, but they don’t taste like the chocolate I’m used to. The ones I bought, sweetened with organic cane juice, taste more “healthy” than chocolate chips, probably their closest conventional counterpart.

The texture of the nibs is a surprise too – less consistent and smooth than processed chocolate. As well, the nibs vary in size and shape. Every mouthful is interesting, and you don’t need a huge quantity to be satisfied.

My best breakfast this past week consisted of Greek yogourt, organic raspberries, blueberries, pomegranate seeds, cut-up Brazil nuts, cacao nibs, cinnamon and a bit of honey. Delicious – and it held me until lunchtime.

Happy Holidays! Planning to blog again Friday.

Leave a Reply

