Too much (digital) information

Sometime I wonder how other people manage all the information that comes across their screen every day. This morning, I read that there are 554 million people on Twitter. I follow 340 of them.

I started following most of them as a reporter at The Canadian Jewish News, and have added more than a few post-downsizing – mostly related to food and writing. I keep thinking I should edit my list, but there are always more pressing tasks. It’s impossible to keep up with all the Tweets, and I’m satisfied with checking Twitter once or twice a day and thinking of whatever I see as a window into what I want to know. But, wow, is Twitter a time-eater if you allow it to be!

I’m also a member of several groups on LinkedIn, and I follow a lot more blogs than I used to. My email inbox is filled with updates, not to mention regular email. I like to read, and I’m interested in most of what crosses my screen. I’ve had to discipline myself not to click on too many links.

Sometimes I find it overwhelming. And I didn’t mention Facebook, which I’m finding more manageable timewise than I did when I first joined.

This morning, in my e-mail, I found a post from Gretchen Rubin, author of The Happiness Project, that resonated with me. It didn’t deal with information overload per se, but she wrote about the importance of having a foundation: habits like adequate sleep and exercise that make it easier to work on other habits. I think it’s a good strategy against being overwhelmed, not just digitally but in any aspect of life.

I’ve been deleting a lot of unnecessary emails lately, but I plan to keep this one. At least for now.

 

 

One thought on “Too much (digital) information

  1. Hello. I agree with you completely on the extensive amount of content on the Web. If I were to tell you just one rule over how to overcome this annoyance, then that would be to develop your Focus on the things that matter most and at the same time develop techniques or strategies to keep up with the Web. I feel that narrowing down your attention to just a few things on the Web is rather disturbing because there is so much to learn and experience. Who knows maybe someday you’ll discover something truly amazing, that’s the Web for you. Our team will be publishing a blog on this soon, not that I’m marketing myself, but do check it out! It’ll be an honor.

Leave a Reply

