Refreshing Green Bean Pineapple Salad

After all the latkes we consumed over Chanukah, I’ve been craving salads, and other fresh, healthy, non-fried foods.

Earlier this week, I decided to make a salad using leftover steamed green beans and other items I had in the house. Fresh pineapple, I think, is a great antidote to fried foods! Orange sections would be nice too. I also added fresh parsley and fresh mint, which I had used in quinoa tabouli last weekend.

green bean pineapple saladTo round out the salad, and add another level of texture and flavour, I toasted almonds in a non-stick pan, and chopped them before mixing them in.

For the dressing, I used olive oil and lime juice, adding cinnamon – a spice considered a superfood – for its health benefits.

I googled “green bean pineapple salad” before creating my own version, which is  based on this one, by Australian chef Bill Granger.

My recipe, below, makes a modest amount of salad – probably 3 to 4 servings. I ended up with too much dressing when I experimented, so the amount I’m suggesting now is a guesstimate.

The herbs and pineapple make for a refreshing side dish, while the cinnamon, almonds and green beans add a more “wintery” element. I would make this again.

Green Bean Pineapple Salad

1 1/2 cups steamed French green beans, cut into 1 1/4/” lengths

1/3 cup chopped fresh pineapple

1/4 cup toasted almonds, chopped

3 tbsp. fresh parsley

1 tbsp. fresh mint

Dressing:

1 1/2 tbsp. lime juice

1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. maple syrup

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

pinch of sea salt

1. Combine green beans, pineapple, toasted almonds, parsley and mint.

2. Whisk dressing ingredients together in small bowl, and add to salad.

3. Combine until mixed.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

