Chocolate Sunday – The Great Chocolate Beet experiment!

A few days ago, I found this article about beets in the online Jewish magazine Tablet, and thought, “Seriously?”

rogelach

My chocolate beet rugelach aren’t pink!

The article, by food blogger Amy Kritzer, is accompanied by a recipe for chocolate beet rugelach (recipe link is on left side of the Tablet magazine article) and a picture showing the brightly hued dough. Seriously? Um, yes.

But my skepticism about fuchsia-coloured rugelach changed to enthusiasm after I checked out Kritzer’s Jewish food blog. I admired her beautiful pictures and creative recipes, not to mention her culinary school training.

I also realized I had all the ingredients for her rugelach at home. Well, not cream cheese exactly, but the Tofutti version, which I was planning to use in a recipe before it expires next year. Sigh.

And I had just bought some golden beets. No reason not to use them instead of the red ones.

I hadn’t made rugelach in years, especially with cream cheese dough. I don’t bake as often as I used to, and I’ve become lactose-intolerant. But this recipe would be a treat for Chanukah, which begins in 10 days.

I made the rugelach last night, using the best chocolate I had in the house – Lindt 70% cacao. I used only part of the dough – I’ll bake the rest today – but I made the filling with less than two cups of chocolate, and I think it may be enough.

Buttery dough, oozing chocolate, straight out of the oven. Decadent. Even better today, I think, with little chunks of chocolate studding the pastry. My son says you can’t taste the beets. And the rogelach aren’t pink!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

