Pumpkin Sherbet (vegan)

Next to chocolate, one of my favourite flavours is pumpkin. I first tasted pumpkin pie in elementary school, courtesy of a classmate’s mother when I was in Grade 1 – and I was hooked.

pumpkin ice creamWhen my children were younger, I used to buy a pumpkin for Halloween, and bake it afterward. I would freeze most of the baked puree and use it in muffins, pumpkin pies and pumpkin soup (the best!) over the next few months.

Recently, my sister-in-law told me that the small pie pumpkins are sweeter than the larger ones. I bought one a couple of weeks ago, and finally baked it this week, following the instructions on a blog called Elana’s Pantry.

After searching online for recipes for pumpkin sorbet, I decided that this one for pumpkin sherbet looked appealing – easy to prepare, and a little richer than sorbet without being too high-fat. I used vanilla-flavoured almond milk (Almond Breeze) instead of regular milk, and added a bit of pumpkin pie spice, in addition to the flavourings listed in the recipe.

Wow, it’s good! I think the vanilla almond milk added to the flavour, and fresh pumpkin has got to be better than canned. But I could only have a small taste – I’ve got 13 at my table tonight for dinner.

Leave a Reply

