Orange Beet Salad

beet saladIn recent years, I’ve started to rely less and less on lists when I go grocery shopping. Instead, especially in the produce section, I like to choose what’s appealing, so I can supplement my staples – salad greens, blueberries, sweet potatoes, broccoli, bananas and organic apples – with whatever is fresh, in season, exotic and/or too good a price to pass up.

Last week, I had lunch with a colleague in a restaurant that’s near a health food store I like. I’m not in the area often, so I stopped in to check out the organic produce.

I can’t remember the last time I bought beets, but I’d had a delicious oven-roasted beet salad at Tarla Mediterranean Grill in Napa, California earlier in the week. When I saw beets at the health food store, they were too tempting to pass up.

I also bought a couple of organic oranges and some flat-leaf parsley, thinking they could be the base of a delicious salad. And with such vivid colours, the salad would be full of vitamins.

I googled orange beet salad, and came up with this one, which features gorgeous pictures. I modified the recipe only slightly.

Because I didn’t have yellow beets, I used only red ones, and roasted them whole because I found instructions for roasting before I found the salad recipe.

I also substituted pecans for walnuts, and didn’t bother measuring the salad ingredients, although I did measure ingredients for the dressing. I accidentally added a bit too much oil, and next time I would try using less than suggested. Half a cup of olive oil just seems like a lot to me.

I had some of the salad with dinner last night, and am saving the rest for today!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

