Chocolate Sunday – Hot Chocolate!

It’s a little early in the year for hot chocolate, but I’ve been thinking about it since a family trip to Sacramento last weekend for my cousin’s wedding.

IMG_6618My mom, who eats a very healthy diet, was tempted by the hot chocolate at our hotel’s breakfast buffet… until she read the ingredients on the packet. Additives, chemicals, and “all the things that aren’t good for you,” she told me, adding that it was probably delicious. Sigh!

So I’ve had an urge this week to make the hot chocolate I like to make in the winter, using just cocoa powder, sugar, instant coffee and milk. It’s easy, and the coffee gives it a rich flavour. Sometimes, for a bit of decadence, I’ll add a small amount of liqueur.

Just for fun, I googled “best hot chocolate recipe,” which led me to Epicurious, and this recipe, calling for bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate.

I may try it, but for now I’ll stick to my lower-fat version, and have a piece of chocolate with it if the drink doesn’t suffice.

Easy Hot Chocolate

(serves one)

1 generous tsp. each unsweetened cocoa powder, sugar and instant coffee powder or crystals (more of each if using an oversized mug)

regular, almond, or soy milk

1 tsp. Kahlua or Tia Maria (optional)

1. Mix dry ingredients at bottom of microwaveable mug with enough milk to form a paste (or mix with liqueur instead of milk). Use a teaspoon to mix.
2. Add milk to fill mug, and stir until thoroughly combined.                                                                                                                    3. Microwave for one minute on high.                                                                                                                                                                   Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

