Very Simple Sweet Potato & Leek Soup

Lately, I’ve been tweaking recipes by substituting ingredients, or sometimes adding new ones.

But last week, I used a recipe for sweet potato and leek soup that was already simple, and pared it down to its most basic ingredients, with fabulous results.  It may have been extra-flavourful because I bought the leeks from a farmer’s market, but I think it would still be great with grocery store leeks. Image

The original recipe is from a blog called love + cupcakes. I’ve made it several times this year. During the winter months, we sipped the soup hot from mugs, but as the weather warmed up, we enjoyed it chilled –  like vichyssoise, but with sweet potatoes instead of potatoes.

Last Friday, I had no vegetable broth or even broth powder in the house, and I forgot to add salt and pepper when I prepared the soup. Contrary to instructions on the blog, I use olive oil, instead of butter, to sauté the leeks. I prefer it for its health benefits, and because it’s non-dairy to boot.

My version serves about 10 people.

A note re leeks: I used to avoid leeks because, frankly, they’re a pain to clean. Some people like to slice through them lengthwise up to about an inch from the bottom, and swish them in water. I prefer to cut them first, and then wash them. Here’s a video that shows you both methods.

Very Simple Sweet Potato & Leek Soup (adapted from loveandcupcakesblog.com’s Sweet Potato+Leek Soup)

5 sweet potatoes, cut in eighths (about 7 cups)

3 cups sliced leeks

2 tbsp. olive oil

1. Heat olive oil briefly on medium high, in 4 1/2-quart pot. When one piece of leek sizzles, add rest of leeks and sauté until tender, stirring frequently.

2. Add sweet potatoes and about seven cups water. Bring to boil, reduce heat, cover and simmer 20 minutes or until sweet potatoes are soft.

3. Use immersion blender to puree.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Very Simple Sweet Potato & Leek Soup

  1. Sweet Potato, Leek and Coriander Soup | Running for kicks

  2. Potato Leek Soup | Cook me quick

  3. Leek Potato Soup – A Beautiful Mess | jittery cook

Leave a Reply

