Blogging as ‘pseudo’-work

I’ve come to think of this blog as “pseudo”-work. I don’t get paid for it, and I’m not accountable to anyone except myself.

But it has some elements in common with my former job as a reporter for The Canadian Jewish News.

I have deadlines, albeit self-imposed. I’m still writing, although most of the content is generated in my head. I haven’t had to interview anyone, take notes, or do much background research.

I have two main areas that I write about, and I guess they are the equivalents of the beats I used to have as a reporter. On Tuesday and Thursday I write about moving on after being downsized, including thoughts on writing and journalism; and on Friday and Sunday I blog about food, specifically chocolate on Sunday.

However, as a blogger, my responsibilities are broader than they were at the paper. I’m not just the writer, I’m also my own assignment editor, proofreader, copy editor, and (groan!) techie. Food photographer, too!

When I was first thinking about starting a blog, someone told me it could eventually become a source of income. That’s not why I started it, but I haven’t ruled out the possibility. I’m also aware that some books, and even movies, have grown out of blogs. The book Julie & Julia, which was made into a movie starring Meryl Streep, is probably the best-known example. It began as Julie Powell’s day-by-day account of cooking her way through Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking.

I started my blog because some deep instinct told me that blogging would take me to whatever is next in my life, whether it’s because writing helps me clarify my thoughts, or because something about the blog itself would lead or point me in a particular direction. Time will tell.

2 thoughts on “Blogging as ‘pseudo’-work

  1. I’m in the (very) early stages of starting a blog. I notice that web editing seems to be in demand, so along with taking a course in the fall, I thought the blog would give me some experience in that area. Don’t know what I’ll blog about yet. The title swirling in my head is something like “Unemployed Blues’ Arts Potpourri.”

Leave a Reply

