Chocolate Sunday

I wrote earlier in the week that I was considering adding a fourth day to my three-day-a-week blog. I think it has to be Sunday, because no other day lends itself so well to the subject.

For the past month, I’ve reserved Tuesday and Thursday for blogging about journalism, writing and moving forward after downsizing; while Friday has been “food day.” But I think chocolate deserves a day of its own.

I’ve been thinking about a “chocolate” blog since before I stopped working, but I didn’t want to restrict the scope of my writing that much.

It started on one of my weekday morning walks. One of the friends I walk with was teasing me about life post-work, and he asked if I would “eat chocolate and shop.”

I may have laughed or groaned, or both, but I thought the phrase had a ring to it, and that it would make a great name for a blog.

I asked my other walking partner, half-jokingly, what she thought. She hesitated for a moment. “I don’t know,” she said. “It doesn’t really sound like you.”

“You’re right,” I admitted. “Maybe it should be ‘Eat Chocolate and Write.’ ” But I didn’t think that was quite “me” either.

Even so, I couldn’t shake the idea of writing about chocolate. All day long and even after that, ideas kept coming to me – about four dozen in total. I wrote them all down in my little orange notebook, and am looking forward to turning them into blog entries, starting this weekend.

So, to whet your appetite for Sunday, and if you need an excuse to indulge (in moderation), check out this New York Times article about the health benefits of eating chocolate.

Leave a Reply

