Oat Bran Muffins

Much as I adore good chocolate, I eat a pretty balanced diet and like to use a variety of fruits, vegetables and other healthy ingredients when I cook and bake.

Recently, I’ve started experimenting with oat bran muffins. Oat bran is high in fibre and lowers bad cholesterol, among other beneficial effects. Image

This week, I found a recipe online that I plan to make again soon. I’ll include the link at the bottom of this post. It’s from a  blog written by Jae Steele, a Toronto-based cookbook author and holistic nutritionist whose name I wasn’t familiar with.

On my first attempt to follow her recipe, I was sure I’d read the directions wrong. There’s no flour! Also, there’s no egg.

Without eggs, and with soy yogourt, as the recipe suggests, the muffins are vegan.

Another bonus – maple syrup, not refined sugar, is the sweetener. And a third – the muffins are celiac-friendly (gluten-free if you use oat bran that is certified gluten-free).

I was skeptical about the end result, though.

However, Steele wrote that the muffins would not turn out to be hockey pucks.

She was right. The yogourt and applesauce in the recipe made for a moist batter that held together, and the chopped apple, grated orange peel and dried fruit (she used prunes, I preferred raisins) added flavour and texture.

My only quibble is the small size of the muffins. It was hard to stop at one, and we finished them very quickly.

http://domesticaffair.blogspot.ca/2005/03/good-morning-muffins.html.

One thought on “Oat Bran Muffins

Leave a Reply

