Walking after working

One thing about losing your job is that you don’t know where you’ll be or what you’ll be doing six months or a year down the road.

A month after my last day, I’m doing well, despite the uncertainty.

Part of the reason, I think, is that I start my day the same way I did when I was working. Walking in the morning with friends is enjoyable, and a boon to my physical and mental health.

I started walking for exercise at least ten years ago, after my doctor suggested it as a way to address low levels of good cholesterol that showed up in a routine blood test. After four months of walking five times a week, my good cholesterol was back to normal, and my overall cholesterol results were also better. Even my bone density improved that first year. Walking soon became my preferred form of exercise.

The feeling that I’m starting my day right makes it easier to focus on whatever I’m doing afterward, like posting to my blog three days a week, networking, and taking the next steps on my career path.

I may not know what I’m doing in six months, but I know what’s on my agenda tomorrow and the next day.

 

2 thoughts on “Walking after working

  1. Since I stopped working I have had the time to go to the gym several times a week. My favourite time to go is 2:00 in the afternoon because there is hardly anyone there and I don’t have to wait for any of the machines. This new focus on ME through exercise, gardening, seeing friends, etc. has kept me from feeling lonely and, quite frankly, lost! But the obvious benefit from exercise is that I feel great!

    • I also continue the same routine as if I was working. I get up early in the a.m. and do whatever errands need to be made. Then I return home to do my on line courses. I do not want to think what will be 6 months down the road. I want to keep positive. Taking my online courses keeps my mind busy.

Leave a Reply

