Cutting through jargon

Recently, I began to examine job postings on LinkedIn and other websites as an exercise in defining what type of work appeals to me – and what doesn’t. I also want to figure out what employers are looking for that I have to offer, as well as what skills I should consider upgrading.

To my surprise, I found that the first thing to appeal to me – or turn me off –  was the language used in the job descriptions, not the jobs themselves.

The admittedly small sample I looked at included a few examples of fresh, clear writing that contrasted sharply with jargon I saw elsewhere. An ad seeking a “rockstar storyteller” captured my attention, as did one that specified “a can-do person who loves what they do.” I even found an ad that offered bonus points for finding typos that had been deliberately included.

Fresh, unambiguous writing is compelling and “real” in a way that jargon isn’t. To work in an environment that is similarly compelling and “real” definitely appeals to me.

Leave a Reply

